Kabul Eagles’ owner banned from Shpageeza T20 league for taking field as a player during a match

In what can only be called bizarre, the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) banned the owner of the Kabul Eagles franchise, Abdul Latif Ayoubi, after he decided to participate in a match involving his team as part of the playing XI in the ongoing Shpageeza Cricket League 2020 tournament.

He took the field as part of the Eagles’ lineup against Speen Ghar Tigers and as a result, he has been banned for the rest of the tournament. 40-year-old Ayoubi, who is a medium-fast bowler, gave away 16 runs in the only over he bowled.

Eagles ended up winning the match after they chased down the 142-run target with more than 2 overs to spare. Ayoubi didn’t get a chance to bat for Eagles.

“Afghanistan has the talent to win the T20 World Cup,” says Rashid Khan

Having consolidated a strong position in the league matches of the tournament, Ayoubi seemed quite confident of his team’s chances to make it to the final, which they eventually did, and decided to make his own debut despite not being a member of the squad. For his illegal entry, he came under the intense scrutiny of the tournament organizers.

On top of it, Ayoubi made matters worse by getting into a brawl with a commentator after which he was charged with violating Articles 9 and 18 of the ACB Disciplinary Code that deals with misbehavior with staff or players, using foul language & damaging property.

The ACB banned Ayoubi from attending the remainder of the tournament and also imposed a fine of 30000 AFNs which is equivalent to Rs 28,616.

@TheKabulEagles franchise owner Ab.Latif Ayobi is banned from attending the remainder of #Etisalat4GSCL2020 & fined 30000 AFNs for violation of Articles 9 &18 of the ACB Disciplinary Code which deals with misbehavior with Staff or players, using foul language & damaging property.
— Afghanistan Cricket Board (@ACBofficials) September 14, 2020

The Shpageeza Cricket League 2020 tournament features six teams – Kabul Eagles, Mis Ainak Knights, Band-e-Amir Dragons, Amo Sharks, Speen Ghar Tigers, and Boost Defenders.

(cricketnext inputs)

Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *