New Zealand pacer Kyle Jamieson has been fined 15% of his match fee for ‘showing dissent at an umpire’s decision’ during the second ODI against Bangladesh at Christchurch.
In the second ODI between New Zealand and Bangladesh, an incident took place during the 15th over of the visitors’ batting when Bangladesh skipper Tamim Iqbal offered a sharp return catch to Kyle Jamieson, who went low to his left and pulled off what seemed like a fantastic catch.
The on-field umpires referred the decision to the third umpire while giving out as the soft signal. The third umpire after watching replays overturned the soft signal stating that the lanky pacer did not have full control of the ball.
NZ v BAN 2021: Cricket fraternity reacts as Tamim Iqbal escapes a controversial caught & bowled decision in 2nd ODI
Jamieson reacted angrily after the TV umpire ruled his return catch from Tamim Iqbal following which he has been fined 15% of his match fee for showing dissent at an umpire’s decision and also had one demerit point added to his disciplinary record, the ICC said in a statement.
This was Jamieson’s second offense in a 24-month period. New Zealand however, is 2-0 up in a three-match series after beating Bangladesh by five wickets in the second ODI. The third game will be played on Friday at Wellington.